Talkin’ Blues

My love of music has led me to document music and the musicians. I am fascinated by the creative process behind the songs and performances. These are my conversations with those who live in music.

If you have any questions or comments, please email at talkinblues@mac.com.

Thanks for listening!

Mako

Episodes Date

A conversation with Paris-born, West Coast blues guitarist, Franck L. Goldwasser  (solo artist, The Goldwasser/Rannenberg/Wade Trio, Mannish Boys) - https://francklgoldwasser.com/
August 11, 2022
A conversation with performer of epic acoustic classic rock, Mike Massé - https://mikemasse.com/
August 4, 2022
A conversation with an Award-winning sportscaster and an avid music fan, Dave Hodge.
July 28, 2022
A conversation with the president of Electro-Fi Records, Andrew Galloway (www.electrofi.com) and graphic designer, Bruce Greenaway.
July 23, 2022
A conversation with Nashville based Award-winning singer, songwriter, and musician, Jason Lee McKinney - https://www.jasonleemckinneyband.com
July 14, 2022
A conversation with musician, singer/songwriter and producer - Joe Bouchard (Blue Oyster Cult, solo artist, Blue Coupe & Bouchard Brothers) - joebouchard.com.
July 7, 2022
A conversation with Bluesman/DJ/Producer - Chicago Slim, aka Dr. Daniel Ivankovich.  Dr. Ivankovich is also a trauma/spine surgeon, who heads OnePatient – Global Health Initiative, a nonprofit that sp...
July 1, 2022
A conversation with multiple German Blues Award winner, singer/songwriter - Kai Strauss - (www.kaistrauss.com).  
June 23, 2022
A conversation with keyboardist (Etta James, Elvin Bishop & Robert Cray), producer and executive director of Little Village Foundation, Jim Pugh - http://littlevillagefoundation.com/
June 17, 2022
A conversation with the Principal cellist of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, soloist and educator, Joseph Johnson -  https://www.joecello.com/
June 9, 2022
A conversation with Canadian singer-songwriter, record producer, theatre actress, and television host, Amy Sky - amysky.com
June 2, 2022
A conversation with Chicago blues musician and Delmark recording artist, Dave Weld - https://www.daveweld.com
May 23, 2022
A conversation with Canadian-born guitarist, singer and songwriter (currently based in Austin, Texas) - Gary Cain - www.garycainband.com
May 19, 2022
A conversation with American blues guitarist, singer and songwriter, Mighty Mike Schermer (solo artist, Marcia Ball, Elvin Bishop and others) - https://mighty-mike.com/ ...
May 12, 2022
A conversation with American electric blues guitarist, vocalist and songwriter - Toronzo Cannon - https://www.toronzocannon.com/
May 5, 2022
A conversation with Canadian guitarist based out of Lima, Peru and co-founder of Pete Schmidt Guitar Accessories - Pete Schmidt - https://peteschmidt.com/
April 21, 2022
A conversation with Blues and Roots musician, independent recording artist and Double Slide Guitarist, Mike Nagoda -https://www.mikenagoda.com    
April 14, 2022
A conversation with one of the leading rock musicians working, speaking out, and singing about mental illness - Robb Nash - https://www.robbnash.com/
April 7, 2022
A conversation with Award-Winning Canadian Music Therapist, Author & Speaker, Jennifer Buchanan - https://www.jenniferbuchanan.ca/
March 31, 2022
A conversation with American singer, songwriter, record producer, author and musician - Felix Cavaliere (solo artist, The Rascals) - Check out Felix's new book - "Memoir of a Rascal" available at http...
March 24, 2022
A conversation with American guitarist - Andy Timmons (Taylor Bay Band, Danger Danger, Pawn Kings, and Andy Timmons Band) - https://andytimmons.com
March 17, 2022
A conversation with Canadian multi-instrumentalist, singer, songwriter & producer - Ken Whiteley (solo artist, The Original Sloth Band, Scarlett, Washington & Whiteley and Whiteley Brothers.) ...
March 10, 2022
A conversation with roots and blues infused singer/songwriter/guitarist Greg Nagy - https://gregnagy.com/
March 3, 2022
A conversation with American singer, guitarist and songwriter, Mark Farner (solo artist, Grand Funk Railroad.) - https://markfarner.com
February 24, 2022
A conversation with Canadian guitarist, pedal steel player, multi-instrumentalist, producer, engineer and the host of "Music Makers and Soul Shakers" Podcast, Steve Dawson - https://www.stevedawson.ca...
February 17, 2022
A conversation with bassist for the Alice Cooper Group, Grammy Hall of Fame inductee as co-writer of "School's Out" and Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame inductee, Dennis Dunaway (https://www.dennisdunaway.c...
February 10, 2022
A conversation with American guitarist, composer, singer, songwriter, and producer - Steve Vai - https://www.vai.com/
February 3, 2022
A conversation with American blues singer-songwriter and musician - Carolyn Wonderland - https://carolynwonderland.com/
January 27, 2022
A conversation with New Orleans singer/songwriter, Lynn Drury - http://www.lynndrury.com.  
January 20, 2022
A conversation with singer, songwriter and guitarist - Jon Knight of Soulstack - www.Soulstackmusic.com.
January 13, 2022
From the Talkin' Blues archives, an interview with the legendary musician, songwriter, arranger and record producer - Allen Toussaint.  This interview is from May of 2012.
December 23, 2021
A conversation with Grammy nominated Italian Blues musician, Hohner Lifetime Award recipient and author, Fabrizio Poggi - http://www.chickenmambo.com/
December 17, 2021
A conversation with Juno winner and multiple Maple Blues Awards recipient - Steve Hill - https://www.stevehillmusic.com
December 9, 2021
A conversation with Toronto Symphony Orchestra's Assistant Timpani and Section Percussionist and coach of the percussion section of the Toronto Symphony Youth Orchestra, Joe Kelly - https://www.tso....
December 2, 2021
A conversation with American harmonica player, singer, songwriter, cat lover, skateboarder, Saints fan and cigar lover, Jason Ricci - https://mooncat.org
November 25, 2021
A conversation with American jazz and blues saxophonist/harmonicist, arranger and record producer - Kaz Kazanoff.
November 18, 2021
A conversation with singer, songwriter and performer - Michael Sadler (Saga, Progject, solo artist) - https://sagagen.com/
November 11, 2021
A conversation with American soul singer, song writer, Grammy winner and record producer, William Bell - http://www.williambell.com/
November 4, 2021
A conversation with Owner and CEO of Intrepid Artists International, Rick Booth - https://intrepidartists.com/
October 28, 2021
A conversation with American electric blues guitarist, songwriter and record producer who played in Etta James' backing band for 23 years - Bobby Murray (Bobby Murray Band, Etta James, Frankie Lee)  -...
October 21, 2021
A conversation with American blues guitarist, vocalist and songwriter, Selwyn Birchwood - www.selwynbirchwood.com.
October 14, 2021
A conversation with Nashville blues songwriter and guitarist, Dave Duncan. 
October 7, 2021
A conversation with New Orleans singer, songwriter and guitarist - Eric Johanson (solo artist, Cire & Cyril Neville) - https://www.ericjohanson.com/
September 30, 2021
A conversation with American roots music bassist, Brad Fordham (Dave Alvin & The Guilty Ones, Whitney Rose and Jerry Jeff Walker).
September 23, 2021
A conversation with drummer, percussionist, composer, educator and producer, Jim Casson (Dark Orchard, Davis Hall and the Green Lanterns, The Reluctant Cosmonaut, Mighty Duck Blues Band, Downchild) - ...
September 16, 2021
A conversation with singer, songwriter and bassist - Bill Troiani (Billy T Band, The Bills, Tom Russell Band, Eddie "Bluesman" Kirkland) - www.billytband.com
September 9, 2021
A conversation with American songwriter, vocalist, guitarist and bassist - Walter Parks (Walter Parks & The Unlawful Assembly,  The Nudes, Swamp Cabbage and sideman for Richie Havens) - www.walter...
September 3, 2021
A conversation with English musician, songwriter, singer, and producer - Steve Hackett (solo artist, Genesis, GTR) - http://www.hackettsongs.com/  
August 26, 2021
A conversation with American blues guitarist and singer, Debbie Davies (solo artist, Albert Collins, Maggie Mayall and the Cadillacs) - https://www.debbiedavies.com/
August 19, 2021
A conversation with Brazilian producer and musician, Igor Prado - @igorprado_bluessoulfunk
August 13, 2021
A conversation with drummer and educator - Rodd Bland (Rodd Bland and the Members Only Band, Bobby "Blue" Bland, B. B. King)
August 5, 2021
A conversation with classical pianist and Inaugural winner of the Mécénat Musica Prix Goyer, Phil Chiu - http://philipchiu.ca/
July 31, 2021
A conversation with rock drummer, author and event speaker - Kenny Aronoff (John Mellencamp, John Fogerty, The Bodeans, Supersonic Blues Machine and many, many, many more) - https://kennyaronoff.com/
July 22, 2021
A conversation with Little Village recording artist, Tia Carroll - http://www.tiacarroll.net/  
July 15, 2021
A conversation with composer, director, artist and Grammy Award winning cellist, Andrew Yee (solo artist, Attacca Quartet) - https://www.andrewyeecellist.com/  
July 8, 2021
A conversation with Cuban-American hard rock/heavy metal bassist and author - Rudy Sarzo (Quiet Riot, Ozzy Osbourne, Whitesnake and The Guess Who).
July 2, 2021
A conversation with bassist, keyboardist, producer and composer - Kenny Passarelli (solo artist, Joe Walsh/Barnstorm, Stephen Stills, Elton John)  
June 24, 2021
A conversation with Canadian songwriter and broadcaster Christopher Ward - https://www.christopherward.ca/.  His song "Black Velvet" was recently inducted into the Canadian Songwriter's Hall of Fame...
June 17, 2021
A conversation with Canadian singer/songwriter - Craig Cardiff (https://www.craigcardiff.com/)  
June 10, 2021
A conversation with blues guitarist, singer and songwriter - Eddie "Devil Boy" Turner - https://eddieturner.net/  
June 3, 2021
A conversation with Norwegian blues/rock/roots musician, composer and producer - Amund Maarud (solo artist, The Grand, Morudes, Amgala Temple and Jace Everett colab) - https://www.amundmaarud.com/   P...
May 27, 2021
A conversation with the 2021 SOCAN Guardian Award Recipient, 2014 inductee to the Canadian Music Industry Hall of Fame, recipient of three Gold Leaf Awards (which became the Junos) and the co-founder ...
May 20, 2021
A conversation with American electric blues singer, songwriter, harmonicist, accordionist and guitarist  - Johnny Sansone - https://www.johnnysansone.com/
May 13, 2021
A conversation with lead guitarist and songwriter of The Tubes, Roger Steen - (www.thetubes.com)  
May 6, 2021
A conversation with 2020 New England Music Hall of Fame Inductee  - bassist, Scott Spray (Johnny Winter, Edgar Winter, studio musician).
April 29, 2021
A conversation with harmonica virtuoso, composer, producer, visual artist, musical explorer and harmonica manufacturer - Lee Oskar (www.leeoskar.com) and Canadian blues harp player and band leader - D...
April 22, 2021
A conversations with roots rock guitarist, singer and songwriter - Philip Sayce - https://philipsayce.com/  
April 15, 2021
A conversation with Italian-American bass player, producer and record industry consultant - Fabrizio Grossi (Supersonic Blues Machine & Soul Garage Experience) - https://www.fabriziogrossi.com/   ...
April 8, 2021
A conversation with the former booking and production manager at the Notodden Blues Festival - Ed Murphy.
April 1, 2021
A conversation with San Francisco Bay Area blues singer, songwriter, and chromatic harmonica player - Big Harp George - https://www.bigharpgeorge.com/
March 25, 2021
A conversation with multi-instrumentalist and the founding member of the Youngbloods, Lowell "Banana" Levinger (solo artist, Youngbloods, Little Steven and the Disciples of Soul) - http://www.lowel...
March 18, 2021
A conversation with Alligator recording artist - Curtis Salgado - about his new album, "Damage Control" - www.curtissalgado.com.
March 11, 2021
From the Talkin' Blues archives - A conversation with the British trombonist, double bassist and trad jazz bandleader - Chris Barber - https://chrisbarber.net/    
March 9, 2021
A conversation with three-time Juno Award Nominee, both as a solo vocalist and also as a longtime Baritone member of the iconic Canadian a capella group, The Nylons - Gavin Hope.
March 4, 2021
A conversation with session musician, keyboard player, guitarist and songwriter - Fred Mandel (solo artist, Alice Cooper, Queen and Elton John)  - https://www.fredmandelmusic.com/
February 25, 2021
A conversation with singer, songwriter, musician and producer - Mark Lalama (Mark Lalama Trio, Sister's Euclid, Dizzy and Fay) - www.marklalama.com
February 18, 2021
A conversation with singer, songwriter, guitarist, educator and writer - Rik Emmett (solo artist, RESolution9, Triumph) - http://www.rikemmett.com/
February 11, 2021
A conversation with composer, songwriter, keyboard player, producer and arranger, John Capek - www.johncapek.com
February 4, 2021
A conversation with pianist, Hammond organist and composer, Anthony Geraci (solo artist, The Proven Ones, Sugar Ray Norcia and The Bluetones, Ronnie Earl and the Broadcasters) - http...
January 28, 2021
A conversation with American roots music drummer, Lisa Pankratz (Dave Alvin & The Guilty Ones, Whitney Rose, Ronnie Dawson).
January 21, 2021
A conversation with  blues, roots, gospel, soul and jazz singer/songwriter, Dione Taylor - https://dionetaylor.com
January 14, 2021
A conversation with producer, owner of  Roseleaf Recording Studio, Recording engineer, Blues Music Awards blues drummer of the year recipient and NW Cascade Blues Association inductee into the blue...
January 7, 2021
A conversation with  guitarist, singer, record producer, and songwriter - Mike Zito - www.mikezito.com.
December 31, 2020
A conversation with South African drummer, Anton Fig (Late Show with David Letterman, Joe Bonamassa, and Ace Frehley to name a few) - http://www.antonfig.com.
December 24, 2020
A conversation with roots and blues singer-songwriter, Suzie Vinnick - https://www.suzievinnick.com.
December 17, 2020
A conversation with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra's concertmaster and a violinist in the New Orford String Quartet, Jonathan Crow - https://www.tso.ca/performer/jonathan-crow
December 10, 2020
A conversation with drummer, producer and singer, Tony Coleman (who played with B.B. King for 25 years as well as Otis Clay, Bobby "Blue" Bland, Albert King and so many more) - https://tonytccoleman.c...
December 3, 2020
A conversation with producer, musician and the leader of the Legendary Powder Blues, Tom Lavin - https://powderblues.net/
November 26, 2020
A conversation with French Blues harmonicist and singer - Nico Wayne Toussaint - https://www.nicowaynetoussaint.com/
November 19, 2020
A conversation with principal trumpet of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the trumpet faculty of the Glenn Gould School at the Royal Conservatory of Music - Andrew McCandless - https://www.tso.ca/pe...
November 12, 2020
A conversation with Canadian songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer, Ben Mink (FM, k.d. lang, Rush, Heart) - http://www.benmink.com.
November 5, 2020
A conversation with Honeymoon Suite guitarist and songwriter - Derry Grehan - https://honeymoonsuiteband.com/
October 29, 2020
A conversation with American electric blues and reggae guitarist and singer-songwriter, Rusty Zinn - https://www.rustyreggae.com/
October 22, 2020
A conversation with American old-time music, Piedmont blues, and neotraditional country multi-instrumentalist, singer, and songwriter, Dom Flemons - https://theamericansongster.com
October 15, 2020
A conversation with singer, songwriter and harmonica player - Kim Wilson (solo artist, Fabulous Thunderbirds) - http://fabulousthunderbirds.com/
October 8, 2020
A conversation with Global music guitarist, producer and director, Jesse Cook - http://www.jessecook.com.     
October 1, 2020
A conversation with American electric Blues and Soul harmonicist, singer and songwriter, John Németh - http://www.johnnemeth.com.   
September 24, 2020
A conversation with Cape Breton Fiddler (and drummer) and educator, Dan MacDonald - https://www.danmacdonald.org/ 
September 17, 2020
A conversation with composer, lyricist, singer and vocal coach, David Wall (The Bourbon Tabernacle Choir, Flying Bulgar Klezmer Band, solo artist) - www.davidwall.ca.
September 11, 2020
A conversation with American blues singer, songwriter and guitarist, Albert Castiglia - http://albertcastiglia.net/
September 3, 2020

Load more

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App