Talkin’ Blues

My love of music has led me to document music and the musicians. I am fascinated by the creative process behind the songs and performances. These are my conversations with those who live in music.

Episodes Date

A conversation with blues guitarist, singer/songwriter - Albert Cummings - http://albertcummings.com 
June 4, 2020
A conversation with the founder and CEO of Blind Ambition Management, Ltd. - Charles Driebe - http://www.blindambitionmgt.com.
May 28, 2020
A conversation with Austrian blues guitarist, songwriter and producer - Chris Fillmore (Meena Cryle and The Chris Fillmore Band) - http://www.meenacryle.com
May 21, 2020
A conversation with the owner of M.C. Records, Mark Carpentieri - https://mc-records.com
May 14, 2020
A conversation with singer/harmonica player/songwriter and Severn Records recording artist, Tad Robinson - www.tadrobinson.com
May 7, 2020
A conversation with singer/songwriter Ezra Jordan - http://www.ezrajordan.com.
April 30, 2020
A conversation with multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, itinerant sideman, and session musician - Gene Hardy (Bourbon Tabanacle Choir, Sparkjiver, Michael Bublé, The Pip-Squeek Orchestra and 996 more).
April 23, 2020
A conversation with blues guitarist, vocalist and multiple Juno Award winner, Jack de Keyzer - www.jackdekeyzer.com.
April 16, 2020
A conversation with vocalist (Planet Earth & Funk Embassy) and the host of Gumbo Kitchen on Jazz.FM91, Ronnie Littlejohn. This interview took place On March 4th, 2020 before our world changed.
April 9, 2020
A conversation with percussionist, educator and jazz artist - Joe Saylor (Jon Batiste's Stay Human and the house band for The Late Show with Stephen Corbert).
April 2, 2020
A conversation with composer, conductor, arranger and trombonist, Scott Good - https://www.scottgoodmusic.com
March 26, 2020
A conversation with Singer, Entertainer and Producer - Jay Douglas - http://jaydouglasmusic.com.
March 19, 2020
A conversation with Canadian blues guitarist, singer and songwriter - Big Dave McLean.
March 12, 2020
A conversation with guitarist, singer/songwriter - Albert Lee (Albert Lee and Hogan's Heroes, Emmylou Harris, Eric Clapton and The Cricketts.)
March 5, 2020
A conversation with Canadian singer, songwriter, actor and author - Ian Thomas - http://ianthomas.ca
February 27, 2020
A conversation with Panamanian pianist, composer, educator, and a social activist, Danilo Perez - https://www.daniloperez.com
February 20, 2020
A conversation with producer, Chris Birkett (Sinead O'Connor, Buffy St. Marie, Alison Moyet) and his musical partner in The Free Spirits, Shari Tallon - https://thefreespirits.ca/
February 13, 2020
A conversation with drummer, 2020 Juno Awards Jazz Solo Album of the Year nominee and the Head of the percussion dept at Humber College, Mark Kelso - https://www.groovydrums.com/.
February 6, 2020
A conversation with 2020 Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Billy Branch - http://billybranch.com
January 30, 2020
A conversation with guitarist of the NuBlu Band and manager and the person responsible for booking the talent at Buddy Guy's Legends in Chicago, Mark Maddox - https://buddyguy.com/
January 25, 2020
A conversation with Japanese blues musician based out of Chicago, Shoji Naito (The Chicago Blues Aces, Eddy Clearwater Band) - https://www.shojinaito.com
January 16, 2020
A conversation with the Chicago Blues Festival Director,  Carlos Tortolero - https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/depts/dca/supp_info/chicago_blues_festival.html
January 9, 2020
A conversation with author, musician and builder of exquisite acoustic instruments, Grit Laskin - https://williamlaskin.com.
January 2, 2020
A conversation with the drummer of Wide Mouth Mason, Safwan Javed - https://widemouthmason.com.
December 26, 2019
A conversation with guitarist/vocalist, Joey Williams (Blind Boys of Alabama, Robert Randolph & The Family Band, Joey Williams Project) - www.blindboys.com.
December 19, 2019
A conversation with bassist, Chas Elliott (Toronto Symphony Orchestra & Porkbelly Futures).
December 12, 2019
A conversation with drummer/percussionist, composer and producer - Stephen Hodges (Mavis Staples, Tom Waits, John Hammond, James Harman)
December 5, 2019
A conversation with composer, arranger and keyboardist - Aaron Davis (Manteca, Holly Cole and Measha Brueggergosman) - http://aarondavispiano.com/.
November 28, 2019
A conversation with former manager of the Riverboat Cafe and publicist, Jane Harbury - https://janeharbury.wordpress.com/
November 21, 2019
A conversation with American blues and R&B singer songwriter, Shaun Murphy (Shaun Murphy Band, Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band, Little Feat) - https://shaunmurphyband.com/
November 14, 2019
A conversation with Australian blues guitarist, songwriter and singer - Lloyd Spiegel - http://lloydspiegel.com/
November 7, 2019
A conversation with drummer - Tom Bona (Sue Foley, Raoul & The Big Time and Soulstack) - http://www.tombona.com
October 31, 2019
If you’re a fan of Canadian blues and roots music, you’ve probably seen or heard guitarist/singer-songwriter Terry Blersh, doing his own thing or supporting many of your favourite artists, on stage an...
October 24, 2019
A conversation with producer/engineer/mixer, Brian Moncarz (Our Lady Peace, The Trews, The Tea Party) - http://www.brianmoncarz.com/
October 10, 2019
A conversation with Jon Button, bassist for The Who - https://www.jonbutton.com
October 3, 2019
A conversation with 9 time Juno nominated guitarist, composer/bandleader, Michael Occhipinti - https://michaelocchipintimusic.com/
September 26, 2019
A conversation with singer-songwriter, actress, author and motivational speaker, Bif Naked - www.bifnaked.com
September 19, 2019
A conversation with Ed Sculthorpe - Guitar tech, owner of Birchway Sound in Hamilton and Canadian Army veteran - https://www.birchwaysound.ca/
September 12, 2019
A conversation with saxophonist, vocalist, and songwriter, Vanessa Collier - https://www.vanessacollier.com/
September 5, 2019
A conversation with North Mississippi Hill Country Blues drummer, guitarist, singer and songwriter - Cedric Burnside - https://www.cedricburnside.net/
August 30, 2019
A conversation with New York songwriter, session musician and educator, Billy Seidman of the Song Arts Academy - http://www.songartsacademy.com  
August 23, 2019
A conversation with freelance drummer, Davide DiRenzo (Jacksoul, Tom Cochran, Holly Cole, to name but a few...)
August 15, 2019
A conversation with Julie Nesrallah, mezzo-soprano and host of Tempo on CBC Music - julienesrallah.com
August 8, 2019
This week on Talkin' Blues, a conversation with American Roots musician, blues educator and researcher, Eric Noden - http://www.ericnoden.com.
July 31, 2019
A conversation with Israeli born, Chicago-based guitarist, singer and songwriter, Guy King - www.guyking.net
July 25, 2019
A conversation with Chicago-based blues singer, songwriter, and virtuoso guitarist, Joanna Connor and Hip Hop Artist, Bugsy aka Alphonso Dinaro - http://joannaconnor.com/
July 18, 2019
A conversation with Finnish vocalist, guitarist and songwriter, Erja Lyytinen - http://www.erjalyytinen.com
July 11, 2019
A conversation with drummer/percussionist and educator, Vince Maccarone (Los Variants, The Sidemen & Johnny Max Band) - https://vince.losvariants.com/
July 4, 2019
A conversation with musician, singer/songwriter, painter, author and so much more, Tom Wilson (Junkhouse, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings and Lee Harvey Osmond) https://tomwilsononline.com
June 29, 2019
A conversation with musician and entertainment host of Crystal Bach Riverboat cruise, Joe Kearns.
June 20, 2019
A conversation with multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter, Sananda Maitreya - www.Sananda.org    Please check out Sananda's world and music and listen to his own radio at https://icy.unitedradi...
June 13, 2019
A conversation with American blues pianist, singer, and songwriter, Kelley Hunt - www.kelleyhunt.com.
June 6, 2019
A conversation with folksinger, songwriter, musician, comedian and so much more - Steve Poltz - www.poltz.com.
May 31, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, singer/songwriter and YouTube personality - Gavin McLeod - www.gavinmcleodmusic.com
May 16, 2019
A conversation with producer, musician, singer, songwriter, Gino Vannelli - www.ginov.com
May 9, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, Arthur Neilson (Shemekia Copeland, Blue Angel, solo artist) - http://arthurneilson.com/
May 2, 2019
 A conversation with bassist and road manager of Tommy Castro and The Painkillers, Randy McDonald - http://tommycastro.com/
April 25, 2019
A conversation with composer of orchestral, chamber, ballet, and film music, Kevin Lau - http://kevinlaumusic.com.
April 19, 2019
A conversation with singer/songwriter and slide guitarist, Sean Pinchin (solo artist, Dione Taylor) - https://seanpinchin.ca/
April 13, 2019
A conversation with producer, musical director and musician, Lou Pomanti (Blood, Sweat & Tears, Oakland Stroke & The Dexters) - https://loupomanti.com/
April 4, 2019
A conversation with bassist, Leo Valvassori (Sue Foley, Actionsound Band, Alannah Myles and Mel Brown & The Homewreckers).
March 28, 2019
A conversation with bassist/guitarist Wayne DeAdder (Beat Heathens, Jimmy Bowskill, Johnny Max Band) - https://www.facebook.com/The-Beat-Heathens-109417525784210/
March 23, 2019
A conversation with singer/songwriter and guitarist Eric Schenkman (Spin Doctors, Actionsound Band and solo artist) - www.ericschenkman.com.
March 14, 2019
 A conversation with five time Maple Blues Award winner for Keyboard player of the year, David Vest - www.davidvest.ca.
March 7, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, singer, songwriter, Myles Goodwyn (April Wine, Myles Goodwyn & Friends of the Blues) - http://mylesgoodwyn.com/
February 28, 2019
A conversation with 2019 Keeping the Blues Alive recipient - publicist, Sarah French - sarahfrenchpublicity.com 
February 21, 2019
A conversation with Saxophonist Pat Carey (Downchild, Jazz Navigators and Maple Blues Revue) - www.patcarey.ca
February 14, 2019
A conversation with Canadian pop/rock singer-songwriter, Barney Bentall - www.barneybentall.com
February 7, 2019
A conversation about Domenic Troiano, guitar playing and so much more with Bernie LaBarge (The Dexters) and Alex Lifeson (Rush) - www.bernielabarge.com & www.rush.com/band/alex-lifeson/   Special ...
January 31, 2019
A conversation with cellist Amahl Arulanandam of VC2 - https://www.vc2celloduo.com/
January 25, 2019
A conversation about his life in music and his new book, "Bitten by the Blues" with the president of Alligator Records, Bruce Iglauer - www.alligator.com
January 17, 2019
A conversation with Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Jimmy Johnson - https://jimmyjohnsonblues.com
January 10, 2019
A conversation with blues rock vocalist, Sari Schorr - www.sarischorr.com.
January 3, 2019
A conversation with Shemekia Copeland's manager - John Hahn.
December 27, 2018
A conversation with pianist/singer/songwriter (Bev Leslies, Beauty and La Biche, Cyndi Lauper, Michael Franks, Ronnie Spector), musical director (Cissy Houston, Whitney Houston, Bette Midler, Carly Si...
December 20, 2018
A conversation with blues, roots and slide guitarist and songwriter, Rick Fines - www.rickfines.ca.
December 13, 2018
A conversation with bassist, John Dymond (Colin Linden, Blackie & The Rodeo King, Bruce Cockburn, and k.d. Lang to name but a few).
December 6, 2018
A conversation with Kyle and Rikki Lee Wilson from the Fleetwood Mac/Stevie Nicks tribute band, Rikki Nicks - www.rikkinicks.com
November 29, 2018
A conversation with Celtic music guitarist, Tony McManus and singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist, Julia Toaspern - www.tonymcmanus.com & www.juliatoaspern.de  
November 22, 2018
A conversation with Tony D. (Tony Diteodoro) of MonkeyJunk and the Tony D Band - www.monkeyjunkband.com.
November 15, 2018
A conversation with blues guitarist and singer/songwriter, David Gogo - www.davidgogo.com.
November 9, 2018
A conversation with Canadian County Music Hall of Fame inductee and winner of the Canadian Country Music Association's "Guitar Player of the Year" (multiple times), Wendell Ferguson - http://wendellfe...
November 1, 2018
A conversation with Canadian musician and songwriter, Bill Bourne - www.billbourne.com.
October 25, 2018
A conversation with American blues musician and storyteller, Doug MacLeod - www.doug-macleod.com.
October 18, 2018
A conversation with blues musician, actor, comedian and club owner, Chris Barnes - www.chrisbarnesnyc.com.
October 11, 2018
A conversation with Canadian Folk and Blues guitarist, Lester Quitzau - www.lesterq.com.
October 6, 2018
.A conversation with Downchild drummer, Mike Fitzpatrick - www.downchild.com
September 27, 2018
A conversation with cellist, Bryan Holt - www.bryanholt.ca.
September 20, 2018
A conversation with singer / songwriter, Damhnait Doyle (solo artist/Shaye/The Heartbroken) - http://www.dav-net.com
September 13, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, drummer and producer, Tom Hambridge - http://hambridgetunes.com/
September 6, 2018
A conversation with Chicago Blues/Jazz guitarist, Dave Specter - www.davespecter.com.
August 30, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues guitarist, Tom Holland - http://tomhollandshufflekings.com.
August 22, 2018
A conversation with musician, Jeff Turmes (solo artist, bassist for Mavis Staples and Rick Holmstrom Band) - http://jeffturmes.com.
August 16, 2018
A conversation with blues musician, Morgan Davis - www.morgandavis.com
August 9, 2018
A conversation with Blaine Pritchett (drummer for Atlantis and former guitar technician for Domenic Troiano).
August 2, 2018
A conversation with musician Dave Murphy (Dave Murphy Band/Jeff Healey Band) - www.davemurphyband.com
July 26, 2018
A conversation with legendary drummer. Bernard "Pretty" Purdie - http://www.bernardpurdie.com.
July 19, 2018
A conversation with producer, songwriter and drummer (2018 Blues Music Award Winner), Tony Braunagel -www.tonybraunagel.com.
July 12, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, Curtis Salgado - www.curtissalgado.com. and Jim Pugh of Little Village Foundation (www.littlevillagefoundation.com) joins the conversation towards the end podcas...
July 5, 2018
A conversation with blues and jazz multi-instrumentalist, Chris Cain - http://www.chriscainmusic.com. 
June 28, 2018

Load more

Play this podcast on Podbean App