Talkin’ Blues

My love of music has led me to document music and the musicians. I am fascinated by the creative process behind the songs and performances. These are my conversations with those who live in music.

Episodes Date

A conversation with producer, musician and the leader of the Legendary Powder Blues, Tom Lavin - https://powderblues.net/
November 26, 2020
A conversation with French Blues harmonicist and singer - Nico Wayne Toussaint - https://www.nicowaynetoussaint.com/
November 19, 2020
A conversation with principal trumpet of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the trumpet faculty of the Glenn Gould School at the Royal Conservatory of Music - Andrew McCandless - https://www.tso.ca/pe...
November 12, 2020
A conversation with Canadian songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer, Ben Mink (FM, k.d. lang, Rush, Heart) - http://www.benmink.com.
November 5, 2020
A conversation with Honeymoon Suite guitarist and songwriter - Derry Grehan - https://honeymoonsuiteband.com/
October 29, 2020
A conversation with American electric blues and reggae guitarist and singer-songwriter, Rusty Zinn - https://www.rustyreggae.com/
October 22, 2020
A conversation with American old-time music, Piedmont blues, and neotraditional country multi-instrumentalist, singer, and songwriter, Dom Flemons - https://theamericansongster.com
October 15, 2020
A conversation with singer, songwriter and harmonica player - Kim Wilson (solo artist, Fabulous Thunderbirds) - http://fabulousthunderbirds.com/
October 8, 2020
A conversation with Global music guitarist, producer and director, Jesse Cook - http://www.jessecook.com.     
October 1, 2020
A conversation with American electric Blues and Soul harmonicist, singer and songwriter, John Németh - http://www.johnnemeth.com.   
September 24, 2020
A conversation with Cape Breton Fiddler (and drummer) and educator, Dan MacDonald - https://www.danmacdonald.org/ 
September 17, 2020
A conversation with composer, lyricist, singer and vocal coach, David Wall (The Bourbon Tabernacle Choir, Flying Bulgar Klezmer Band, solo artist) - www.davidwall.ca.
September 11, 2020
A conversation with American blues singer, songwriter and guitarist, Albert Castiglia - http://albertcastiglia.net/
September 3, 2020
A conversation with singer-songwriter, record producer, session musician, and actor - Marc Jordan - https://www.marcjordan.com/
August 27, 2020
A conversation with Terry Draper about his time with Klaatu and his solo career - https://www.terrydraper.com/
August 20, 2020
A conversation with British-born American funk and R&B musician, Jon Cleary - http://www.joncleary.com/
August 13, 2020
A conversation with Juno Award Recipient, Singer/Song Writer, Blues Recording Artist - Dawn Tyler Watson - https://www.dawntylerwatson.com/
August 6, 2020
A conversation with Canadian rock guitarist, singer, songwriter - Kim Mitchell - http://kimmitchell.ca/
July 30, 2020
A conversation with Jacob Petersen - guitarist for the Steve Miller Band.
July 23, 2020
A conversation with producer, composer and multi-instrumentalist, Drew Jurecka (Jeff Healey's Jazz Wizards, The Hogtown Syncopators and the Venuti String Quartet) - https://www.drewjurecka.com/
July 16, 2020
A conversation with guitarist, Alex Schultz (William Clarke, Rod Piazza & The Mighty Flyers, Lester Butler and Tad Robinson) - http://www.alexschultz.com/
July 9, 2020
A conversation with award-winning bassist, composer and record producer - Robert Occhipinti - https://robertoocchipinti.com/
July 2, 2020
A conversation with Memphis singer/songwriter and producer - Reba Russell - https://www.rebarussell.com/
June 25, 2020
A conversation with author and two time Blues Music Award winner in the Instrumentalist - Bass category, Mudcat Ward (Sugar Ray Norcia and The Bluetones & The Broadcasters).
June 18, 2020
A conversation with Cuban-American drummer, composer, bandleader, and educator - Dafnis Prieto - https://dafnisonmusic.com
June 11, 2020
A conversation with blues guitarist, singer/songwriter - Albert Cummings - http://albertcummings.com 
June 4, 2020
A conversation with the founder and CEO of Blind Ambition Management, Ltd. - Charles Driebe - http://www.blindambitionmgt.com.
May 28, 2020
A conversation with Austrian blues guitarist, songwriter and producer - Chris Fillmore (Meena Cryle and The Chris Fillmore Band) - http://www.meenacryle.com
May 21, 2020
A conversation with the owner of M.C. Records, Mark Carpentieri - https://mc-records.com
May 14, 2020
A conversation with singer/harmonica player/songwriter and Severn Records recording artist, Tad Robinson - www.tadrobinson.com
May 7, 2020
A conversation with singer/songwriter Ezra Jordan - http://www.ezrajordan.com.
April 30, 2020
A conversation with multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, itinerant sideman, and session musician - Gene Hardy (Bourbon Tabanacle Choir, Sparkjiver, Michael Bublé, The Pip-Squeek Orchestra and 996 more).
April 23, 2020
A conversation with blues guitarist, vocalist and multiple Juno Award winner, Jack de Keyzer - www.jackdekeyzer.com.
April 16, 2020
A conversation with vocalist (Planet Earth & Funk Embassy) and the host of Gumbo Kitchen on Jazz.FM91, Ronnie Littlejohn. This interview took place On March 4th, 2020 before our world changed.
April 9, 2020
A conversation with percussionist, educator and jazz artist - Joe Saylor (Jon Batiste's Stay Human and the house band for The Late Show with Stephen Corbert).
April 2, 2020
A conversation with composer, conductor, arranger and trombonist, Scott Good - https://www.scottgoodmusic.com
March 26, 2020
A conversation with Singer, Entertainer and Producer - Jay Douglas - http://jaydouglasmusic.com.
March 19, 2020
A conversation with Canadian blues guitarist, singer and songwriter - Big Dave McLean.
March 12, 2020
A conversation with guitarist, singer/songwriter - Albert Lee (Albert Lee and Hogan's Heroes, Emmylou Harris, Eric Clapton and The Cricketts.)
March 5, 2020
A conversation with Canadian singer, songwriter, actor and author - Ian Thomas - http://ianthomas.ca
February 27, 2020
A conversation with Panamanian pianist, composer, educator, and a social activist, Danilo Perez - https://www.daniloperez.com
February 20, 2020
A conversation with producer, Chris Birkett (Sinead O'Connor, Buffy St. Marie, Alison Moyet) and his musical partner in The Free Spirits, Shari Tallon - https://thefreespirits.ca/
February 13, 2020
A conversation with drummer, 2020 Juno Awards Jazz Solo Album of the Year nominee and the Head of the percussion dept at Humber College, Mark Kelso - https://www.groovydrums.com/.
February 6, 2020
A conversation with 2020 Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Billy Branch - http://billybranch.com
January 30, 2020
A conversation with guitarist of the NuBlu Band and manager and the person responsible for booking the talent at Buddy Guy's Legends in Chicago, Mark Maddox - https://buddyguy.com/
January 25, 2020
A conversation with Japanese blues musician based out of Chicago, Shoji Naito (The Chicago Blues Aces, Eddy Clearwater Band) - https://www.shojinaito.com
January 16, 2020
A conversation with the Chicago Blues Festival Director,  Carlos Tortolero - https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/depts/dca/supp_info/chicago_blues_festival.html
January 9, 2020
A conversation with author, musician and builder of exquisite acoustic instruments, Grit Laskin - https://williamlaskin.com.
January 2, 2020
A conversation with the drummer of Wide Mouth Mason, Safwan Javed - https://widemouthmason.com.
December 26, 2019
A conversation with guitarist/vocalist, Joey Williams (Blind Boys of Alabama, Robert Randolph & The Family Band, Joey Williams Project) - www.blindboys.com.
December 19, 2019
A conversation with bassist, Chas Elliott (Toronto Symphony Orchestra & Porkbelly Futures).
December 12, 2019
A conversation with drummer/percussionist, composer and producer - Stephen Hodges (Mavis Staples, Tom Waits, John Hammond, James Harman)
December 5, 2019
A conversation with composer, arranger and keyboardist - Aaron Davis (Manteca, Holly Cole and Measha Brueggergosman) - http://aarondavispiano.com/.
November 28, 2019
A conversation with former manager of the Riverboat Cafe and publicist, Jane Harbury - https://janeharbury.wordpress.com/
November 21, 2019
A conversation with American blues and R&B singer songwriter, Shaun Murphy (Shaun Murphy Band, Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band, Little Feat) - https://shaunmurphyband.com/
November 14, 2019
A conversation with Australian blues guitarist, songwriter and singer - Lloyd Spiegel - http://lloydspiegel.com/
November 7, 2019
A conversation with drummer - Tom Bona (Sue Foley, Raoul & The Big Time and Soulstack) - http://www.tombona.com
October 31, 2019
If you’re a fan of Canadian blues and roots music, you’ve probably seen or heard guitarist/singer-songwriter Terry Blersh, doing his own thing or supporting many of your favourite artists, on stage an...
October 24, 2019
A conversation with producer/engineer/mixer, Brian Moncarz (Our Lady Peace, The Trews, The Tea Party) - http://www.brianmoncarz.com/
October 10, 2019
A conversation with Jon Button, bassist for The Who - https://www.jonbutton.com
October 3, 2019
A conversation with 9 time Juno nominated guitarist, composer/bandleader, Michael Occhipinti - https://michaelocchipintimusic.com/
September 26, 2019
A conversation with singer-songwriter, actress, author and motivational speaker, Bif Naked - www.bifnaked.com
September 19, 2019
A conversation with Ed Sculthorpe - Guitar tech, owner of Birchway Sound in Hamilton and Canadian Army veteran - https://www.birchwaysound.ca/
September 12, 2019
A conversation with saxophonist, vocalist, and songwriter, Vanessa Collier - https://www.vanessacollier.com/
September 5, 2019
A conversation with North Mississippi Hill Country Blues drummer, guitarist, singer and songwriter - Cedric Burnside - https://www.cedricburnside.net/
August 30, 2019
A conversation with New York songwriter, session musician and educator, Billy Seidman of the Song Arts Academy - http://www.songartsacademy.com  
August 23, 2019
A conversation with freelance drummer, Davide DiRenzo (Jacksoul, Tom Cochran, Holly Cole, to name but a few...)
August 15, 2019
A conversation with Julie Nesrallah, mezzo-soprano and host of Tempo on CBC Music - julienesrallah.com
August 8, 2019
This week on Talkin' Blues, a conversation with American Roots musician, blues educator and researcher, Eric Noden - http://www.ericnoden.com.
July 31, 2019
A conversation with Israeli born, Chicago-based guitarist, singer and songwriter, Guy King - www.guyking.net
July 25, 2019
A conversation with Chicago-based blues singer, songwriter, and virtuoso guitarist, Joanna Connor and Hip Hop Artist, Bugsy aka Alphonso Dinaro - http://joannaconnor.com/
July 18, 2019
A conversation with Finnish vocalist, guitarist and songwriter, Erja Lyytinen - http://www.erjalyytinen.com
July 11, 2019
A conversation with drummer/percussionist and educator, Vince Maccarone (Los Variants, The Sidemen & Johnny Max Band) - https://vince.losvariants.com/
July 4, 2019
A conversation with musician, singer/songwriter, painter, author and so much more, Tom Wilson (Junkhouse, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings and Lee Harvey Osmond) https://tomwilsononline.com
June 29, 2019
A conversation with musician and entertainment host of Crystal Bach Riverboat cruise, Joe Kearns.
June 20, 2019
A conversation with multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter, Sananda Maitreya - www.Sananda.org    Please check out Sananda's world and music and listen to his own radio at https://icy.unitedradi...
June 13, 2019
A conversation with American blues pianist, singer, and songwriter, Kelley Hunt - www.kelleyhunt.com.
June 6, 2019
A conversation with folksinger, songwriter, musician, comedian and so much more - Steve Poltz - www.poltz.com.
May 31, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, singer/songwriter and YouTube personality - Gavin McLeod - www.gavinmcleodmusic.com
May 16, 2019
A conversation with producer, musician, singer, songwriter, Gino Vannelli - www.ginov.com
May 9, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, Arthur Neilson (Shemekia Copeland, Blue Angel, solo artist) - http://arthurneilson.com/
May 2, 2019
 A conversation with bassist and road manager of Tommy Castro and The Painkillers, Randy McDonald - http://tommycastro.com/
April 25, 2019
A conversation with composer of orchestral, chamber, ballet, and film music, Kevin Lau - http://kevinlaumusic.com.
April 19, 2019
A conversation with singer/songwriter and slide guitarist, Sean Pinchin (solo artist, Dione Taylor) - https://seanpinchin.ca/
April 13, 2019
A conversation with producer, musical director and musician, Lou Pomanti (Blood, Sweat & Tears, Oakland Stroke & The Dexters) - https://loupomanti.com/
April 4, 2019
A conversation with bassist, Leo Valvassori (Sue Foley, Actionsound Band, Alannah Myles and Mel Brown & The Homewreckers).
March 28, 2019
A conversation with bassist/guitarist Wayne DeAdder (Beat Heathens, Jimmy Bowskill, Johnny Max Band) - https://www.facebook.com/The-Beat-Heathens-109417525784210/
March 23, 2019
A conversation with singer/songwriter and guitarist Eric Schenkman (Spin Doctors, Actionsound Band and solo artist) - www.ericschenkman.com.
March 14, 2019
 A conversation with five time Maple Blues Award winner for Keyboard player of the year, David Vest - www.davidvest.ca.
March 7, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, singer, songwriter, Myles Goodwyn (April Wine, Myles Goodwyn & Friends of the Blues) - http://mylesgoodwyn.com/
February 28, 2019
A conversation with 2019 Keeping the Blues Alive recipient - publicist, Sarah French - sarahfrenchpublicity.com 
February 21, 2019
A conversation with Saxophonist Pat Carey (Downchild, Jazz Navigators and Maple Blues Revue) - www.patcarey.ca
February 14, 2019
A conversation with Canadian pop/rock singer-songwriter, Barney Bentall - www.barneybentall.com
February 7, 2019
A conversation about Domenic Troiano, guitar playing and so much more with Bernie LaBarge (The Dexters) and Alex Lifeson (Rush) - www.bernielabarge.com & www.rush.com/band/alex-lifeson/   Special ...
January 31, 2019
A conversation with cellist Amahl Arulanandam of VC2 - https://www.vc2celloduo.com/
January 25, 2019
A conversation about his life in music and his new book, "Bitten by the Blues" with the president of Alligator Records, Bruce Iglauer - www.alligator.com
January 17, 2019
A conversation with Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Jimmy Johnson - https://jimmyjohnsonblues.com
January 10, 2019
A conversation with blues rock vocalist, Sari Schorr - www.sarischorr.com.
January 3, 2019
A conversation with Shemekia Copeland's manager - John Hahn.
December 27, 2018
A conversation with pianist/singer/songwriter (Bev Leslies, Beauty and La Biche, Cyndi Lauper, Michael Franks, Ronnie Spector), musical director (Cissy Houston, Whitney Houston, Bette Midler, Carly Si...
December 20, 2018

Load more

Play this podcast on Podbean App