Talkin’ Blues

My love of music has led me to document music and the musicians. I am fascinated by the creative process behind the songs and performances. These are my conversations with those who live in music.

Episodes Date

A conversation with American blues and R&B singer songwriter, Shaun Murphy (Shaun Murphy Band, Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band, Little Feat) - https://shaunmurphyband.com/
November 14, 2019
A conversation with Australian blues guitarist, songwriter and singer - Lloyd Spiegel - http://lloydspiegel.com/
November 7, 2019
A conversation with drummer - Tom Bona (Sue Foley, Raoul & The Big Time and Soulstack) - http://www.tombona.com
October 31, 2019
If you’re a fan of Canadian blues and roots music, you’ve probably seen or heard guitarist/singer-songwriter Terry Blersh, doing his own thing or supporting many of your favourite artists, on stag...
October 24, 2019
A conversation with producer/engineer/mixer, Brian Moncarz (Our Lady Peace, The Trews, The Tea Party) - http://www.brianmoncarz.com/
October 10, 2019
A conversation with Jon Button, bassist for The Who - https://www.jonbutton.com
October 3, 2019
A conversation with 9 time Juno nominated guitarist, composer/bandleader, Michael Occhipinti - https://michaelocchipintimusic.com/
September 26, 2019
A conversation with singer-songwriter, actress, author and motivational speaker, Bif Naked - www.bifnaked.com
September 19, 2019
A conversation with Ed Sculthorpe - Guitar tech, owner of Birchway Sound in Hamilton and Canadian Army veteran - https://www.birchwaysound.ca/
September 12, 2019
A conversation with saxophonist, vocalist, and songwriter, Vanessa Collier - https://www.vanessacollier.com/
September 5, 2019
A conversation with North Mississippi Hill Country Blues drummer, guitarist, singer and songwriter - Cedric Burnside - https://www.cedricburnside.net/
August 30, 2019
A conversation with New York songwriter, session musician and educator, Billy Seidman of the Song Arts Academy - http://www.songartsacademy.com  
August 23, 2019
A conversation with freelance drummer, Davide DiRenzo (Jacksoul, Tom Cochran, Holly Cole, to name but a few...)
August 15, 2019
A conversation with Julie Nesrallah, mezzo-soprano and host of Tempo on CBC Music - julienesrallah.com
August 8, 2019
This week on Talkin' Blues, a conversation with American Roots musician, blues educator and researcher, Eric Noden - http://www.ericnoden.com.
July 31, 2019
A conversation with Israeli born, Chicago-based guitarist, singer and songwriter, Guy King - www.guyking.net
July 25, 2019
A conversation with Chicago-based blues singer, songwriter, and virtuoso guitarist, Joanna Connor and Hip Hop Artist, Bugsy aka Alphonso Dinaro - http://joannaconnor.com/
July 18, 2019
A conversation with Finnish vocalist, guitarist and songwriter, Erja Lyytinen - http://www.erjalyytinen.com
July 11, 2019
A conversation with drummer/percussionist and educator, Vince Maccarone (Los Variants, The Sidemen & Johnny Max Band) - https://vince.losvariants.com/
July 4, 2019
A conversation with musician, singer/songwriter, painter, author and so much more, Tom Wilson (Junkhouse, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings and Lee Harvey Osmond) https://tomwilsononline.com
June 29, 2019
A conversation with musician and entertainment host of Crystal Bach Riverboat cruise, Joe Kearns.
June 20, 2019
A conversation with multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter, Sananda Maitreya - www.Sananda.org    Please check out Sananda's world and music and listen to his own radio at https://icy.unitedra...
June 13, 2019
A conversation with American blues pianist, singer, and songwriter, Kelley Hunt - www.kelleyhunt.com.
June 6, 2019
A conversation with folksinger, songwriter, musician, comedian and so much more - Steve Poltz - www.poltz.com.
May 31, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, singer/songwriter and YouTube personality - Gavin McLeod - www.gavinmcleodmusic.com
May 16, 2019
A conversation with producer, musician, singer, songwriter, Gino Vannelli - www.ginov.com
May 9, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, Arthur Neilson (Shemekia Copeland, Blue Angel, solo artist) - http://arthurneilson.com/
May 2, 2019
 A conversation with bassist and road manager of Tommy Castro and The Painkillers, Randy McDonald - http://tommycastro.com/
April 25, 2019
A conversation with composer of orchestral, chamber, ballet, and film music, Kevin Lau - http://kevinlaumusic.com.
April 19, 2019
A conversation with singer/songwriter and slide guitarist, Sean Pinchin (solo artist, Dione Taylor) - https://seanpinchin.ca/
April 13, 2019
A conversation with producer, musical director and musician, Lou Pomanti (Blood, Sweat & Tears, Oakland Stroke & The Dexters) - https://loupomanti.com/
April 4, 2019
A conversation with bassist, Leo Valvassori (Sue Foley, Actionsound Band, Alannah Myles and Mel Brown & The Homewreckers).
March 28, 2019
A conversation with bassist/guitarist Wayne DeAdder (Beat Heathens, Jimmy Bowskill, Johnny Max Band) - https://www.facebook.com/The-Beat-Heathens-109417525784210/
March 23, 2019
A conversation with singer/songwriter and guitarist Eric Schenkman (Spin Doctors, Actionsound Band and solo artist) - www.ericschenkman.com.
March 14, 2019
 A conversation with five time Maple Blues Award winner for Keyboard player of the year, David Vest - www.davidvest.ca.
March 7, 2019
A conversation with guitarist, singer, songwriter, Myles Goodwyn (April Wine, Myles Goodwyn & Friends of the Blues) - http://mylesgoodwyn.com/
February 28, 2019
A conversation with 2019 Keeping the Blues Alive recipient - publicist, Sarah French - sarahfrenchpublicity.com 
February 21, 2019
A conversation with Saxophonist Pat Carey (Downchild, Jazz Navigators and Maple Blues Revue) - www.patcarey.ca
February 14, 2019
A conversation with Canadian pop/rock singer-songwriter, Barney Bentall - www.barneybentall.com
February 7, 2019
A conversation about Domenic Troiano, guitar playing and so much more with Bernie LaBarge (The Dexters) and Alex Lifeson (Rush) - www.bernielabarge.com & www.rush.com/band/alex-lifeson/   Special...
January 31, 2019
A conversation with cellist Amahl Arulanandam of VC2 - https://www.vc2celloduo.com/
January 25, 2019
A conversation about his life in music and his new book, "Bitten by the Blues" with the president of Alligator Records, Bruce Iglauer - www.alligator.com
January 17, 2019
A conversation with Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Jimmy Johnson - https://jimmyjohnsonblues.com
January 10, 2019
A conversation with blues rock vocalist, Sari Schorr - www.sarischorr.com.
January 3, 2019
A conversation with Shemekia Copeland's manager - John Hahn.
December 27, 2018
A conversation with pianist/singer/songwriter (Bev Leslies, Beauty and La Biche, Cyndi Lauper, Michael Franks, Ronnie Spector), musical director (Cissy Houston, Whitney Houston, Bette Midler, Carly Si...
December 20, 2018
A conversation with blues, roots and slide guitarist and songwriter, Rick Fines - www.rickfines.ca.
December 13, 2018
A conversation with bassist, John Dymond (Colin Linden, Blackie & The Rodeo King, Bruce Cockburn, and k.d. Lang to name but a few).
December 6, 2018
A conversation with Kyle and Rikki Lee Wilson from the Fleetwood Mac/Stevie Nicks tribute band, Rikki Nicks - www.rikkinicks.com
November 29, 2018
A conversation with Celtic music guitarist, Tony McManus and singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist, Julia Toaspern - www.tonymcmanus.com & www.juliatoaspern.de  
November 22, 2018
A conversation with Tony D. (Tony Diteodoro) of MonkeyJunk and the Tony D Band - www.monkeyjunkband.com.
November 15, 2018
A conversation with blues guitarist and singer/songwriter, David Gogo - www.davidgogo.com.
November 9, 2018
A conversation with Canadian County Music Hall of Fame inductee and winner of the Canadian Country Music Association's "Guitar Player of the Year" (multiple times), Wendell Ferguson - http://wendellfe...
November 1, 2018
A conversation with Canadian musician and songwriter, Bill Bourne - www.billbourne.com.
October 25, 2018
A conversation with American blues musician and storyteller, Doug MacLeod - www.doug-macleod.com.
October 18, 2018
A conversation with blues musician, actor, comedian and club owner, Chris Barnes - www.chrisbarnesnyc.com.
October 11, 2018
A conversation with Canadian Folk and Blues guitarist, Lester Quitzau - www.lesterq.com.
October 6, 2018
.A conversation with Downchild drummer, Mike Fitzpatrick - www.downchild.com
September 27, 2018
A conversation with cellist, Bryan Holt - www.bryanholt.ca.
September 20, 2018
A conversation with singer / songwriter, Damhnait Doyle (solo artist/Shaye/The Heartbroken) - http://www.dav-net.com
September 13, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, drummer and producer, Tom Hambridge - http://hambridgetunes.com/
September 6, 2018
A conversation with Chicago Blues/Jazz guitarist, Dave Specter - www.davespecter.com.
August 30, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues guitarist, Tom Holland - http://tomhollandshufflekings.com.
August 22, 2018
A conversation with musician, Jeff Turmes (solo artist, bassist for Mavis Staples and Rick Holmstrom Band) - http://jeffturmes.com.
August 16, 2018
A conversation with blues musician, Morgan Davis - www.morgandavis.com
August 9, 2018
A conversation with Blaine Pritchett (drummer for Atlantis and former guitar technician for Domenic Troiano).
August 2, 2018
A conversation with musician Dave Murphy (Dave Murphy Band/Jeff Healey Band) - www.davemurphyband.com
July 26, 2018
A conversation with legendary drummer. Bernard "Pretty" Purdie - http://www.bernardpurdie.com.
July 19, 2018
A conversation with producer, songwriter and drummer (2018 Blues Music Award Winner), Tony Braunagel -www.tonybraunagel.com.
July 12, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, Curtis Salgado - www.curtissalgado.com. and Jim Pugh of Little Village Foundation (www.littlevillagefoundation.com) joins the conversation towards the end podcas...
July 5, 2018
A conversation with blues and jazz multi-instrumentalist, Chris Cain - http://www.chriscainmusic.com. 
June 28, 2018
A conversation with Miki Mulvehill of Under The Radar Music Group and Heart and Soul Management (Luther Allison, Otis Clay, Doug MacLeod, Syl Johnson, Beverly McClellan, and Kenny Wayne Shepherd) - ht...
June 21, 2018
A conversation with Paul Benjamin of the North Atlantic Blues Festival - http://www.northatlanticbluesfestival.com.
June 14, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues guitarist, singer and songwriter, Billy Flynn - https://www.billyflynn.com.
June 7, 2018
A conversation with Radio Host, Bill Wax (Roots and Fruits on WPFW-FM and former host of Bluesville on Sirius XM). 
May 31, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues musician, Nick Moss - https://www.nickmossband.com.
May 24, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, Ruthie Foster - www.ruthiefoster.com
May 17, 2018
A conversation with actor, musician, writer and producer, Raoul Bhaneja - http://www.raoulbhaneja.com.
May 13, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, Samantha Martin - http://samanthamartinmusic.com
May 4, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues singer, guitarist and songwriter, Mike Ledbetter - www.mikeledbetterbluesoul.com
April 26, 2018
A conversation with Chicago publicist Kevin Johnson of Proud Papa Promotions & Publicity - https://www.facebook.com/ProudPapaPromotionsPublicity/
April 19, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues songwriter, vocalist, and guitarist, Mike Wheeler - www.mikewheelerband.com.  
April 12, 2018
A conversation with record producer (Johnny Winter, Otis Rush, Albert Collins and many, many more), sound engineer, music journalist and music historian, Dick Shurman.
April 5, 2018
A conversation with airline pilot and blues guitarist, Dan Dufour.
March 31, 2018
A conversation with musician, music historian and lecturer, Mike Daley - https://www.mikedaleymusic.com
March 23, 2018
Episode 100 features a conversation with Shakura S'Aida and Andrew Galloway - my guests from the first two episodes of this podcast series return to discuss what they've been up to and other things.
March 15, 2018
A conversation with music correspondent, blogger, radio host and the owner of the music public relations company called That Eric Alper, I speak to that Eric Alper - www.thatericalper.com.
March 9, 2018
Part one (of two) of the interview with Juno Award-winning blues guitarist, vocalist and songwriter, Paul James - www.pauljamesband.com.
March 1, 2018
Part two of my conversation with musician, Paul James - www.pauljamesband.com  
March 1, 2018
A conversation with American blues and rock musician, Tinsley Ellis - www.tinsleyellis.com.  (Special thanks to Alligator Records, Ross Robinson and the Cadillac Lounge in Toronto for making this hap...
February 15, 2018
A conversation with Australian singer, songwriter and guitarist, Daniel Champagne - www.danielchampagnemusic.com
February 9, 2018
A conversation with producer, songwriter and musician, Rob Szabo - www.robszabo.com.
February 1, 2018
A conversation with Canadian documentary film director, Larry Weinstein - http://www.larryweinsteinproductions.com.
January 25, 2018
A conversation with award winning Montreal-based singer-songwriter, Rob Lutes - www.roblutes.com.
January 19, 2018
From the Talkin' Blues archives - an interview from 2004 with Bill Henderson of Chilliwack - www.gonegonegone.com
January 6, 2018
Part 1 of 2 - of the interview with drummer, songwriter, photographer and painter, Gary Taylor - www.imagesbygarytaylor.com.
December 21, 2017
Part 2 of the interview with musician, songwriter, photographer and painter, Gary Taylor - www.imagesbygarytaylor.com.
December 21, 2017
This episodes features an interview with bassist, composer, and arranger, Ian de Sousa - https://www.facebook.com/peoples.republic.of.i
November 30, 2017
A conversation with Juno winning producer, composer, arranger and musician, Lance Anderson - http://makeitrealrecords.com/
November 24, 2017
A conversation with Jazz and Soul music vocalist, Kellylee Evans - www.kellyleeevans.com
November 17, 2017

Load more