Talkin’ Blues

My love of music has led me to document music and the musicians. I am fascinated by the creative process behind the songs and performances. These are my conversations with those who live in music.

If you have any questions or comments, please email at talkinblues@mac.com.

Thanks for listening!

Mako

Episodes Date

A conversation with American roots music bassist, Brad Fordham (Dave Alvin & The Guilty Ones, Whitney Rose and Jerry Jeff Walker).
September 23, 2021
A conversation with drummer, percussionist, composer, educator and producer, Jim Casson (Dark Orchard, Davis Hall and the Green Lanterns, The Reluctant Cosmonaut, Mighty Duck Blues Band, Downchild) - ...
September 16, 2021
A conversation with singer, songwriter and bassist - Bill Troiani (Billy T Band, The Bills, Tom Russell Band, Eddie "Bluesman" Kirkland) - www.billytband.com
September 9, 2021
A conversation with American songwriter, vocalist, guitarist and bassist - Walter Parks (Walter Parks & The Unlawful Assembly,  The Nudes, Swamp Cabbage and sideman for Richie Havens) - www.walter...
September 3, 2021
A conversation with English musician, songwriter, singer, and producer - Steve Hackett (solo artist, Genesis, GTR) - http://www.hackettsongs.com/  
August 26, 2021
A conversation with American blues guitarist and singer, Debbie Davies (solo artist, Albert Collins, Maggie Mayall and the Cadillacs) - https://www.debbiedavies.com/
August 19, 2021
A conversation with Brazilian producer and musician, Igor Prado - @igorprado_bluessoulfunk
August 13, 2021
A conversation with drummer and educator - Rodd Bland (Rodd Bland and the Members Only Band, Bobby "Blue" Bland, B. B. King)
August 5, 2021
A conversation with classical pianist and Inaugural winner of the Mécénat Musica Prix Goyer, Phil Chiu - http://philipchiu.ca/
July 31, 2021
A conversation with rock drummer, author and event speaker - Kenny Aronoff (John Mellencamp, John Fogerty, The Bodeans, Supersonic Blues Machine and many, many, many more) - https://kennyaronoff.com/
July 22, 2021
A conversation with Little Village recording artist, Tia Carroll - http://www.tiacarroll.net/  
July 15, 2021
A conversation with composer, director, artist and Grammy Award winning cellist, Andrew Yee (solo artist, Attacca Quartet) - https://www.andrewyeecellist.com/  
July 8, 2021
A conversation with Cuban-American hard rock/heavy metal bassist and author - Rudy Sarzo (Quiet Riot, Ozzy Osbourne, Whitesnake and The Guess Who).
July 2, 2021
A conversation with bassist, keyboardist, producer and composer - Kenny Passarelli (solo artist, Joe Walsh/Barnstorm, Stephen Stills, Elton John)  
June 24, 2021
A conversation with Canadian songwriter and broadcaster Christopher Ward - https://www.christopherward.ca/.  His song "Black Velvet" was recently inducted into the Canadian Songwriter's Hall of Fame...
June 17, 2021
A conversation with Canadian singer/songwriter - Craig Cardiff (https://www.craigcardiff.com/)  
June 10, 2021
A conversation with blues guitarist, singer and songwriter - Eddie "Devil Boy" Turner - https://eddieturner.net/  
June 3, 2021
A conversation with Norwegian blues/rock/roots musician, composer and producer - Amund Maarud (solo artist, The Grand, Morudes, Amgala Temple and Jace Everett colab) - https://www.amundmaarud.com/   P...
May 27, 2021
A conversation with the 2021 SOCAN Guardian Award Recipient, 2014 inductee to the Canadian Music Industry Hall of Fame, recipient of three Gold Leaf Awards (which became the Junos) and the co-founder ...
May 20, 2021
A conversation with American electric blues singer, songwriter, harmonicist, accordionist and guitarist  - Johnny Sansone - https://www.johnnysansone.com/
May 13, 2021
A conversation with lead guitarist and songwriter of The Tubes, Roger Steen - (www.thetubes.com)  
May 6, 2021
A conversation with 2020 New England Music Hall of Fame Inductee  - bassist, Scott Spray (Johnny Winter, Edgar Winter, studio musician).
April 29, 2021
A conversation with harmonica virtuoso, composer, producer, visual artist, musical explorer and harmonica manufacturer - Lee Oskar (www.leeoskar.com) and Canadian blues harp player and band leader - D...
April 22, 2021
A conversations with roots rock guitarist, singer and songwriter - Philip Sayce - https://philipsayce.com/  
April 15, 2021
A conversation with Italian-American bass player, producer and record industry consultant - Fabrizio Grossi (Supersonic Blues Machine & Soul Garage Experience) - https://www.fabriziogrossi.com/   ...
April 8, 2021
A conversation with the former booking and production manager at the Notodden Blues Festival - Ed Murphy.
April 1, 2021
A conversation with San Francisco Bay Area blues singer, songwriter, and chromatic harmonica player - Big Harp George - https://www.bigharpgeorge.com/
March 25, 2021
A conversation with multi-instrumentalist and the founding member of the Youngbloods, Lowell "Banana" Levinger (solo artist, Youngbloods, Little Steven and the Disciples of Soul) - http://www.lowel...
March 18, 2021
A conversation with Alligator recording artist - Curtis Salgado - about his new album, "Damage Control" - www.curtissalgado.com.
March 11, 2021
From the Talkin' Blues archives - A conversation with the British trombonist, double bassist and trad jazz bandleader - Chris Barber - https://chrisbarber.net/    
March 9, 2021
A conversation with three-time Juno Award Nominee, both as a solo vocalist and also as a longtime Baritone member of the iconic Canadian a capella group, The Nylons - Gavin Hope.
March 4, 2021
A conversation with session musician, keyboard player, guitarist and songwriter - Fred Mandel (solo artist, Alice Cooper, Queen and Elton John)  - https://www.fredmandelmusic.com/
February 25, 2021
A conversation with singer, songwriter, musician and producer - Mark Lalama (Mark Lalama Trio, Sister's Euclid, Dizzy and Fay) - www.marklalama.com
February 18, 2021
A conversation with singer, songwriter, guitarist, educator and writer - Rik Emmett (solo artist, RESolution9, Triumph) - http://www.rikemmett.com/
February 11, 2021
A conversation with composer, songwriter, keyboard player, producer and arranger, John Capek - www.johncapek.com
February 4, 2021
A conversation with pianist, Hammond organist and composer, Anthony Geraci (solo artist, The Proven Ones, Sugar Ray Norcia and The Bluetones, Ronnie Earl and the Broadcasters) - http...
January 28, 2021
A conversation with American roots music drummer, Lisa Pankratz (Dave Alvin & The Guilty Ones, Whitney Rose, Ronnie Dawson).
January 21, 2021
A conversation with  blues, roots, gospel, soul and jazz singer/songwriter, Dione Taylor - https://dionetaylor.com
January 14, 2021
A conversation with producer, owner of  Roseleaf Recording Studio, Recording engineer, Blues Music Awards blues drummer of the year recipient and NW Cascade Blues Association inductee into the blue...
January 7, 2021
A conversation with  guitarist, singer, record producer, and songwriter - Mike Zito - www.mikezito.com.
December 31, 2020
A conversation with South African drummer, Anton Fig (Late Show with David Letterman, Joe Bonamassa, and Ace Frehley to name a few) - http://www.antonfig.com.
December 24, 2020
A conversation with roots and blues singer-songwriter, Suzie Vinnick - https://www.suzievinnick.com.
December 17, 2020
A conversation with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra's concertmaster and a violinist in the New Orford String Quartet, Jonathan Crow - https://www.tso.ca/performer/jonathan-crow
December 10, 2020
A conversation with drummer, producer and singer, Tony Coleman (who played with B.B. King for 25 years as well as Otis Clay, Bobby "Blue" Bland, Albert King and so many more) - https://tonytccoleman.c...
December 3, 2020
A conversation with producer, musician and the leader of the Legendary Powder Blues, Tom Lavin - https://powderblues.net/
November 26, 2020
A conversation with French Blues harmonicist and singer - Nico Wayne Toussaint - https://www.nicowaynetoussaint.com/
November 19, 2020
A conversation with principal trumpet of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the trumpet faculty of the Glenn Gould School at the Royal Conservatory of Music - Andrew McCandless - https://www.tso.ca/pe...
November 12, 2020
A conversation with Canadian songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer, Ben Mink (FM, k.d. lang, Rush, Heart) - http://www.benmink.com.
November 5, 2020
A conversation with Honeymoon Suite guitarist and songwriter - Derry Grehan - https://honeymoonsuiteband.com/
October 29, 2020
A conversation with American electric blues and reggae guitarist and singer-songwriter, Rusty Zinn - https://www.rustyreggae.com/
October 22, 2020
A conversation with American old-time music, Piedmont blues, and neotraditional country multi-instrumentalist, singer, and songwriter, Dom Flemons - https://theamericansongster.com
October 15, 2020
A conversation with singer, songwriter and harmonica player - Kim Wilson (solo artist, Fabulous Thunderbirds) - http://fabulousthunderbirds.com/
October 8, 2020
A conversation with Global music guitarist, producer and director, Jesse Cook - http://www.jessecook.com.     
October 1, 2020
A conversation with American electric Blues and Soul harmonicist, singer and songwriter, John Németh - http://www.johnnemeth.com.   
September 24, 2020
A conversation with Cape Breton Fiddler (and drummer) and educator, Dan MacDonald - https://www.danmacdonald.org/ 
September 17, 2020
A conversation with composer, lyricist, singer and vocal coach, David Wall (The Bourbon Tabernacle Choir, Flying Bulgar Klezmer Band, solo artist) - www.davidwall.ca.
September 11, 2020
A conversation with American blues singer, songwriter and guitarist, Albert Castiglia - http://albertcastiglia.net/
September 3, 2020
A conversation with singer-songwriter, record producer, session musician, and actor - Marc Jordan - https://www.marcjordan.com/
August 27, 2020
A conversation with Terry Draper about his time with Klaatu and his solo career - https://www.terrydraper.com/
August 20, 2020
A conversation with British-born American funk and R&B musician, Jon Cleary - http://www.joncleary.com/
August 13, 2020
A conversation with Juno Award Recipient, Singer/Song Writer, Blues Recording Artist - Dawn Tyler Watson - https://www.dawntylerwatson.com/
August 6, 2020
A conversation with Canadian rock guitarist, singer, songwriter - Kim Mitchell - http://kimmitchell.ca/
July 30, 2020
A conversation with Jacob Petersen - guitarist for the Steve Miller Band.
July 23, 2020
A conversation with producer, composer and multi-instrumentalist, Drew Jurecka (Jeff Healey's Jazz Wizards, The Hogtown Syncopators and the Venuti String Quartet) - https://www.drewjurecka.com/
July 16, 2020
A conversation with guitarist, Alex Schultz (William Clarke, Rod Piazza & The Mighty Flyers, Lester Butler and Tad Robinson) - http://www.alexschultz.com/
July 9, 2020
A conversation with award-winning bassist, composer and record producer - Robert Occhipinti - https://robertoocchipinti.com/
July 2, 2020
A conversation with Memphis singer/songwriter and producer - Reba Russell - https://www.rebarussell.com/
June 25, 2020
A conversation with author and two time Blues Music Award winner in the Instrumentalist - Bass category, Mudcat Ward (Sugar Ray Norcia and The Bluetones & The Broadcasters).
June 18, 2020
A conversation with Cuban-American drummer, composer, bandleader, and educator - Dafnis Prieto - https://dafnisonmusic.com
June 11, 2020
A conversation with blues guitarist, singer/songwriter - Albert Cummings - http://albertcummings.com 
June 4, 2020
A conversation with the founder and CEO of Blind Ambition Management, Ltd. - Charles Driebe - http://www.blindambitionmgt.com.
May 28, 2020
A conversation with Austrian blues guitarist, songwriter and producer - Chris Fillmore (Meena Cryle and The Chris Fillmore Band) - http://www.meenacryle.com
May 21, 2020
A conversation with the owner of M.C. Records, Mark Carpentieri - https://mc-records.com
May 14, 2020
A conversation with singer/harmonica player/songwriter and Severn Records recording artist, Tad Robinson - www.tadrobinson.com
May 7, 2020
A conversation with singer/songwriter Ezra Jordan - http://www.ezrajordan.com.
April 30, 2020
A conversation with multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, itinerant sideman, and session musician - Gene Hardy (Bourbon Tabanacle Choir, Sparkjiver, Michael Bublé, The Pip-Squeek Orchestra and 996 more).
April 23, 2020
A conversation with blues guitarist, vocalist and multiple Juno Award winner, Jack de Keyzer - www.jackdekeyzer.com.
April 16, 2020
A conversation with vocalist (Planet Earth & Funk Embassy) and the host of Gumbo Kitchen on Jazz.FM91, Ronnie Littlejohn. This interview took place On March 4th, 2020 before our world changed.
April 9, 2020
A conversation with percussionist, educator and jazz artist - Joe Saylor (Jon Batiste's Stay Human and the house band for The Late Show with Stephen Corbert).
April 2, 2020
A conversation with composer, conductor, arranger and trombonist, Scott Good - https://www.scottgoodmusic.com
March 26, 2020
A conversation with Singer, Entertainer and Producer - Jay Douglas - http://jaydouglasmusic.com.
March 19, 2020
A conversation with Canadian blues guitarist, singer and songwriter - Big Dave McLean.
March 12, 2020
A conversation with guitarist, singer/songwriter - Albert Lee (Albert Lee and Hogan's Heroes, Emmylou Harris, Eric Clapton and The Cricketts.)
March 5, 2020
A conversation with Canadian singer, songwriter, actor and author - Ian Thomas - http://ianthomas.ca
February 27, 2020
A conversation with Panamanian pianist, composer, educator, and a social activist, Danilo Perez - https://www.daniloperez.com
February 20, 2020
A conversation with producer, Chris Birkett (Sinead O'Connor, Buffy St. Marie, Alison Moyet) and his musical partner in The Free Spirits, Shari Tallon - https://thefreespirits.ca/
February 13, 2020
A conversation with drummer, 2020 Juno Awards Jazz Solo Album of the Year nominee and the Head of the percussion dept at Humber College, Mark Kelso - https://www.groovydrums.com/.
February 6, 2020
A conversation with 2020 Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Billy Branch - http://billybranch.com
January 30, 2020
A conversation with guitarist of the NuBlu Band and manager and the person responsible for booking the talent at Buddy Guy's Legends in Chicago, Mark Maddox - https://buddyguy.com/
January 25, 2020
A conversation with Japanese blues musician based out of Chicago, Shoji Naito (The Chicago Blues Aces, Eddy Clearwater Band) - https://www.shojinaito.com
January 16, 2020
A conversation with the Chicago Blues Festival Director,  Carlos Tortolero - https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/depts/dca/supp_info/chicago_blues_festival.html
January 9, 2020
A conversation with author, musician and builder of exquisite acoustic instruments, Grit Laskin - https://williamlaskin.com.
January 2, 2020
A conversation with the drummer of Wide Mouth Mason, Safwan Javed - https://widemouthmason.com.
December 26, 2019
A conversation with guitarist/vocalist, Joey Williams (Blind Boys of Alabama, Robert Randolph & The Family Band, Joey Williams Project) - www.blindboys.com.
December 19, 2019
A conversation with bassist, Chas Elliott (Toronto Symphony Orchestra & Porkbelly Futures).
December 12, 2019
A conversation with drummer/percussionist, composer and producer - Stephen Hodges (Mavis Staples, Tom Waits, John Hammond, James Harman)
December 5, 2019
A conversation with composer, arranger and keyboardist - Aaron Davis (Manteca, Holly Cole and Measha Brueggergosman) - http://aarondavispiano.com/.
November 28, 2019
A conversation with former manager of the Riverboat Cafe and publicist, Jane Harbury - https://janeharbury.wordpress.com/
November 21, 2019
A conversation with American blues and R&B singer songwriter, Shaun Murphy (Shaun Murphy Band, Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band, Little Feat) - https://shaunmurphyband.com/
November 14, 2019
A conversation with Australian blues guitarist, songwriter and singer - Lloyd Spiegel - http://lloydspiegel.com/
November 7, 2019

Load more

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App