Talkin’ Blues

My love of music has lead me to document music and the musicians. I am fascinated by the creative process behind the songs and performances. These are my conversations with those who live in music.

Loading
91

Episodes Date

A conversation with Jazz and Soul music vocalist, Kellylee Evans - www.kellyleeevans.com
November 17, 2017
A conversation with guitarist (multi-instrumentalist), vocalist, songwriter and producer, Kevin Breit - www.kevinbreit.com.
November 10, 2017
An interview with guitarist, producer and studio musician, Mike "Pepe" Francis.
November 3, 2017
An interview with the London based proprietor of Divergent Media, formerly of Rounder Records and Rykodisc amongst others, Ian Gilchrist - https://www.facebook.com/divergentmediauk/
October 26, 2017
An interview which took place in Spain with the father of Madrid Blues, Tonky de la Peña - https://www.facebook.com/tonkyjuan  (Special thanks to Enrico Crivellaro for making this interview happen ...
October 19, 2017
A conversation with Co-Administrator/Archivist of the Estate of Jeff Healey, Roger Costa - www.jeffhealey.com.  
September 30, 2017
An interview with blues musician, Al Lerman - www.allermanmusic.com
September 22, 2017
An interview with American blues guitarist, singer, songwriter and painter, Bobby Radcliff - www.bobbyradcliffblues.com.
September 15, 2017
An interview with guitarist, singer, songwriter and producer as well as a Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Joe Louis Walker - www.joelouiswalker.com.
September 10, 2017
A conversation with Big Wreck drummer, Chuck D. Keeping - www.bigwreckmusic.com
September 4, 2017
An interview with promoter (and generalist) Rico Ferrara of Blues for a Big Town - www.bluesforabigtown.com
August 25, 2017
An interview with the brilliant singer, songwriter and harmonica player, Rick Estrin - www.rickestrin.com.
August 18, 2017
From the Talkin' Blues Archives...an interview with Bluesman Snooky Pryor from November 3rd, 2001.  This interview took place thanks to the help of Andrew Galloway of Electro-Fi Records.  Assisting ...
July 27, 2017
A conversation with guitarist, singer, songwriter, Chris Antonik - www.chrisantonik.com.
July 21, 2017
An interview with Canadian Blues Guitarist, Shawn Kellerman (Lucky Peterson, Godboogie, Shawn Kellerman Band) - www.shawnkellerman.com.
July 14, 2017
An interview with author of "The Blues - Why It Still Hurts So Good" and Manager and Wife of Walter Trout, Dr. Marie Trout - www.marietrout.com.
July 6, 2017
An interview with Canadian Blues Harp player, David Rotundo - www.davidrotundo.com.
June 30, 2017
An interview with Canadian Fingerstyle Guitarist, Don Ross - www.donrossonline.com.
June 23, 2017
An interview with the Detroit's Queen of the Blues, Thornetta Davis - http://thornettadavis.com/
June 15, 2017
An interview with the producer of the Blues Music Awards and storyteller (author, filmmaker and public speaker), Willy Bearden - http://www.willybearden.com.
June 8, 2017
An interview with former President and CEO of the Blues Foundation, Jay Sieleman.
June 2, 2017
An interview with American soul blues singer, guitarist, arranger, songwriter and record producer, Johnny Rawls - www.johnnyrawlsblues.com.
May 26, 2017
An interview with the General Manager of the Notodden Blues Festival and singer/songwriter/harmonica player in Spoonful of Blues, Jostein Forsberg from Notodden, Norway - www.bluesfest.no.
May 20, 2017
An interview with award winning, Grammy nominated blues harmonica player, singer and songwriter, Mark Hummel - www.markhummel.com.
May 14, 2017
An interview with Chicago Blues musician, Rockin' Johnny Burgin - www.rockinjohnnyburgin.com.
April 5, 2017
An interview with multiple award winner, bassist for Downchild, and musical director of the Maple Blues Awards (just to name a few things he does), Gary Kendall - www.garykendall.com.  This is part ...
March 23, 2017
An interview with multiple award winner, bassist for Downchild, and musical director of the Maple Blues Awards (just to name a few things he does), Gary Kendall - www.garykendall.com.  This is part t...
March 23, 2017
 An interview with Canadian jazz, blues & boogie-woogie pianist, vocalist, composer, arranger and producer, Michael Kaeshammer - www.kaeshammer.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Montreal Blues guitarist, Paul Deslaurier - www.pauldeslauriersband.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Cape Breton Blues Musician/slide player, John Campbelljohn - www.campbelljohn.ca.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian harmonica player, Roly Platt - www.rolyplatt.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with the owner and founder of Cordova Bay Entertainment, Michael Burke - www.cordovabay.com.
March 12, 2017
A conversation with the President and Chief Executive Officer of The Blues Foundation, Barbara Newman - www.blues.org.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Chicago blues musician, Toronzo Cannon - www.toronzocannon.com
March 12, 2017
An interview with chamber blues musician, Corky Siegel - www.corkymusic.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with the Executive Director of Performing Arts for the Royal Conservatory of Music, Mervon Mehta - http://www.rcmusic.ca.
March 12, 2017
An interview with drummer, Bucky Berger who has played with Fathead, Danny Brooks, Rough Trade, Chilliwack and Raffi...to name just a few.  This interview took place on November 29, 2016.
March 12, 2017
An interview with musician, producer, and songwriter Alec Fraser.  He is one half of Fraser Daley and has played with the who's who of the Canadian blues scene.  www.fraserdaley.com
March 12, 2017
An interview with blues, afro-roots and soul guitarist / singer-songwriter Cécile Doo-Kingué - www.cdkmusik.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with blues, roots and rock musician, Steve Strongman - www.stevestrongman.com.
March 12, 2017
Here's something different.  Musician, Shakura S'Aida interviews the host of talkin' blues, Mako Funasaka about his life.  www.talkinblues.com
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian guitar maker, Linda Manzer - www.manzer.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with music writer Eric Thom about his life and his approach to reviewing music.  You can find some of Eric's latest reviews at  http://blurtonline.com/
March 12, 2017
Episode 46 features an interview with Steve Marriner of Monkey Junk - monkeyjunkband.com.
March 12, 2017
A conversation with Jimmy Boudreau - drummer for Mel Brown's Homewreckers.  Jimmy also plays with Jim Witter, The Western Swing Authority and many other musical projects -  www.jimboudreau.com
March 12, 2017
An interview with guitarist/singer/songwriter Toney Springer of Wild T and the Spirit - www.wildt.ca.
March 12, 2017
From the Talkin' Blues Archives.  Back in September of 2004, I had the wonderful pleasure of interviewing one of my musical heroes, Chris Whitley, the day after his performance at Hugh's Room.  Port...
March 12, 2017
From the Talkin' Blues Archives.  Back in September of 2004, I had the wonderful pleasure of interviewing one of my musical heroes, Chris Whitley, the day after his performance at Hugh's Room.  Port...
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian musician, Harry Manx - www.harrymanx.com.
March 12, 2017
This episode features an interview with guitarist, singer/songwriter - Sue Foley - www.suefoley.com.
March 12, 2017
This episode features an interview with Zydeco musician, Dwayne Dopsie - www.dwaynedopsie.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with singer/songwriter, Johnny Max about his life and his involvement in the business of music - www.johnnymaxband.com
March 12, 2017
This episodes features an interview with Irish singer/songwriter/guitarist, Grainne Duffy - grainneduffy.com.
March 12, 2017
This episode features an episode with Gospel, Blues and Rock singer, Alexis P. Suter - http://www.alexispsuter.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian blues singer, songwriter and harmonica player, Paul Reddick - www.paulreddick.ca.
March 12, 2017
An interview with pianist Jamie Parker from the Gryphon Trio - www.gryphontrio.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with American blues guitarist, singer and songwriter, Walter Trout - www.waltertrout.com. 
March 12, 2017
An interview with the great Elvin Bishop about his induction into the Blues Hall of Fame - www.elvinbishopmusic.com.  (Music:  "Leaving"  by Steve Strongman)
March 12, 2017
This episode features an interview with the wonderful Sonny Landreth - www.sonnylandreth.com.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman)
March 12, 2017
An interview with the Associate Dean and Director of Chamber Music at the Glenn Gould School of Music, Barry Shiffman.
March 12, 2017
An interview with the CEO of the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise, Roger Naber - www.bluescruise.com  (Music: "Leaving" by Steve Strongman)
March 12, 2017
An interview with blues musician, Greg Nagy.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Greg Nagy and Bruce Greenaway.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Sugar Ray Norcia of Rhode Island - www.sugarrayandthebluetones.com.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special Thanks to Sugar Ray Norcia.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Blues guitarist/singer, Tommy Castro - www.tommycastro.com.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Tommy Castro, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with keyboardist, Junior Brantley. (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman  Special thanks to Curtis Salgado and Junior Brantley for making this interview happen.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Cirque du Soleil guitarist, Bruce Rickerd (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman  Special thanks to Junior Brantley and Bruce Rickerd for this interview.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Sonny Charles of the Checkmates, Ltd & Steve Miller Band. (This is part 1 of the interview.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Sonny Charles of the Checkmates, Ltd & Steve Miller Band.  (This is part 2 of the interview.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with music composer, Ari Posner - www.arimusic.com.  (Special thanks to Ari Posner, Liam Romalis, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with documentary producer/director Daniel Cross - http://www.eyesteelfilm.com (Special Thanks to Rob Lutes, Daniel Cross, Eric Thom, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with keyboardist, Michael Fonfara of Downchild.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special Thanks to Omar Tunnoch, Andrew Galloway, Michael Fonfara, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaug...
March 12, 2017
An interview with musician, artist and lawyer, Paul Sanderson -  http://www.sandersonlaw.ca/  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Paul Sanderson, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vau...
March 12, 2017
An interview with jazz musician, Steven Bernstein - www.stevenbernstein.net  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Henry Butler, Steven Bernstein and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian singer/songwriter, Jon Brooks - www.jonbrooks.ca.(Music:  "Gun Dealer" by Jon Brooks.  Special thanks to Jon Brooks, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with troubadour, Eric Bibb - www.ericbibb.com (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Sari Matinlassi, Holger Petersen, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Fathead bassist, Omar Tunnoch - www.bobomartunnoch.com.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Specialthanks to Omar Tunnoch, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with legendary New Orleans pianist, Henry Butler - http://henrybutler.com(Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Henry Butler, Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
From the archives, an interview with guitarist, Ronnie Earl -  www.ronnieearl.com.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Deb Blanchard, Ronnie Earl, Andrew Galloway, Michael C...
March 12, 2017
An interview with drummer, Gary Craig (Bruce Cockburn, Anne Murray, Blackie & The Rodeo Kings, etc...)  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Bruce Greenaway & Gary Vaug...
March 12, 2017
An interview with blues legend Bobby Rush = www.bobbyrushbluesman.com Please note:  This interview contains language that may offend some people.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special...
March 12, 2017
An interview with radio DJ, John Donabie.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Bruce Greenaway and Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with blues musician, Sugar Brown - www.sugarbrowmusic.com.  (Music:  "Poor Lazarus" traditional arrangement by Sugar Brown.  Special Thanks to Sarah French.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with studio musician, Bernie LaBarge - www.bernielabarge.com.(Music:  "Overnight Sensation" by Bernie LaBarge  Special thanks to Bruce Greenaway, Gary Vaughan and Domenic Troiano.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Ivan Neville of Dumpstaphunk - www.dumpstaphunk.com.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman  Special thanks to Bruce Greenaway and Amee Jana.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with with blues, roots and rock musician, Ross Neilsen -  www.rossneilsen.com.  (Music:  "Elemental" by Ross Neilsen  Special thanks to Gary Vaughan.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Jimmy Carter of the Blind Boys of Alabama -  www.blindboys.com.  (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman.  Special thanks to Charles Driebe and Sue Schrader, Bruce Greenaway and Ga...
March 12, 2017
An interview with musician Rick Holmstrom -   www.rickholmstrom.com  (music:  "Lord Please" by Rick Holmstrom.  Special thanks to Andrew Galloway, the Kitchener Blues Festival and Mark Carpentier...
March 12, 2017
Interview with guitarist/manager Paul Nelson -  www.paulnelsonguitar.com.    (Music:  "Diagonal Blue" - The Paul Nelson Band.  Special Thanks to John Lappen of Lappen Enterprises, the Blue Note...
March 12, 2017
An interview with New York photographer, Joseph A. Rosen. http://josepharosen.com/ (Music:  "Leaving" by Steve Strongman)
March 12, 2017
Interview with singer, actor, entertainer, producer, mom and many, many other things - Shakura S'Aida. Music:  "Time" by Shakura S'Aida.  Special thanks to Gary Vaughan and Bruce Greenaway.)
March 12, 2017
An interview with Andrew Galloway - the president of Electro-Fi Records.  Music:  "Snap" by Mel Brown & The Homewreckers  Special Thanks to:  Gary Vaughan, Tom Funasaka and Bruce Greenaway
March 12, 2017