Talkin’ Blues

My love of music has lead me to document music and the musicians. I am fascinated by the creative process behind the songs and performances. These are my conversations with those who live in music.

Loading
136

Episodes Date

A conversation with American blues musician and storyteller, Doug MacLeod - www.doug-macleod.com.
October 18, 2018
A conversation with blues musician, actor, comedian and club owner, Chris Barnes - www.chrisbarnesnyc.com.
October 11, 2018
A conversation with Canadian Folk and Blues guitarist, Lester Quitzau - www.lesterq.com.
October 6, 2018
.A conversation with Downchild drummer, Mike Fitzpatrick - www.downchild.com
September 27, 2018
A conversation with cellist, Bryan Holt - www.bryanholt.ca.
September 20, 2018
A conversation with singer / songwriter, Damhnait Doyle (solo artist/Shaye/The Heartbroken) - http://www.dav-net.com
September 13, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, drummer and producer, Tom Hambridge - http://hambridgetunes.com/
September 6, 2018
A conversation with Chicago Blues/Jazz guitarist, Dave Specter - www.davespecter.com.
August 30, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues guitarist, Tom Holland - http://tomhollandshufflekings.com.
August 22, 2018
A conversation with musician, Jeff Turmes (solo artist, bassist for Mavis Staples and Rick Holmstrom Band) - http://jeffturmes.com.
August 16, 2018
A conversation with blues musician, Morgan Davis - www.morgandavis.com
August 9, 2018
A conversation with Blaine Pritchett (drummer for Atlantis and former guitar technician for Domenic Troiano).
August 2, 2018
A conversation with musician Dave Murphy (Dave Murphy Band/Jeff Healey Band) - www.davemurphyband.com
July 26, 2018
A conversation with legendary drummer. Bernard "Pretty" Purdie - http://www.bernardpurdie.com.
July 19, 2018
A conversation with producer, songwriter and drummer (2018 Blues Music Award Winner), Tony Braunagel -www.tonybraunagel.com.
July 12, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, Curtis Salgado - www.curtissalgado.com. and Jim Pugh of Little Village Foundation (www.littlevillagefoundation.com) joins the conversation towards the end podcas...
July 5, 2018
A conversation with blues and jazz multi-instrumentalist, Chris Cain - http://www.chriscainmusic.com. 
June 28, 2018
A conversation with Miki Mulvehill of Under The Radar Music Group and Heart and Soul Management (Luther Allison, Otis Clay, Doug MacLeod, Syl Johnson, Beverly McClellan, and Kenny Wayne Shepherd) - ht...
June 21, 2018
A conversation with Paul Benjamin of the North Atlantic Blues Festival - http://www.northatlanticbluesfestival.com.
June 14, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues guitarist, singer and songwriter, Billy Flynn - https://www.billyflynn.com.
June 7, 2018
A conversation with Radio Host, Bill Wax (Roots and Fruits on WPFW-FM and former host of Bluesville on Sirius XM). 
May 31, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues musician, Nick Moss - https://www.nickmossband.com.
May 24, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, Ruthie Foster - www.ruthiefoster.com
May 17, 2018
A conversation with actor, musician, writer and producer, Raoul Bhaneja - http://www.raoulbhaneja.com.
May 13, 2018
A conversation with singer/songwriter, Samantha Martin - http://samanthamartinmusic.com
May 4, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues singer, guitarist and songwriter, Mike Ledbetter - www.mikeledbetterbluesoul.com
April 26, 2018
A conversation with Chicago publicist Kevin Johnson of Proud Papa Promotions & Publicity - https://www.facebook.com/ProudPapaPromotionsPublicity/
April 19, 2018
A conversation with Chicago blues songwriter, vocalist, and guitarist, Mike Wheeler - www.mikewheelerband.com.  
April 12, 2018
A conversation with record producer (Johnny Winter, Otis Rush, Albert Collins and many, many more), sound engineer, music journalist and music historian, Dick Shurman.
April 5, 2018
A conversation with airline pilot and blues guitarist, Dan Dufour.
March 31, 2018
A conversation with musician, music historian and lecturer, Mike Daley - https://www.mikedaleymusic.com
March 23, 2018
Episode 100 features a conversation with Shakura S'Aida and Andrew Galloway - my guests from the first two episodes of this podcast series return to discuss what they've been up to and other things.
March 15, 2018
A conversation with music correspondent, blogger, radio host and the owner of the music public relations company called That Eric Alper, I speak to that Eric Alper - www.thatericalper.com.
March 9, 2018
Part one (of two) of the interview with Juno Award-winning blues guitarist, vocalist and songwriter, Paul James - www.pauljamesband.com.
March 1, 2018
Part two of my conversation with musician, Paul James - www.pauljamesband.com  
March 1, 2018
A conversation with American blues and rock musician, Tinsley Ellis - www.tinsleyellis.com.  (Special thanks to Alligator Records, Ross Robinson and the Cadillac Lounge in Toronto for making this hap...
February 15, 2018
A conversation with Australian singer, songwriter and guitarist, Daniel Champagne - www.danielchampagnemusic.com
February 9, 2018
A conversation with producer, songwriter and musician, Rob Szabo - www.robszabo.com.
February 1, 2018
A conversation with Canadian documentary film director, Larry Weinstein - http://www.larryweinsteinproductions.com.
January 25, 2018
A conversation with award winning Montreal-based singer-songwriter, Rob Lutes - www.roblutes.com.
January 19, 2018
From the Talkin' Blues archives - an interview from 2004 with Bill Henderson of Chilliwack - www.gonegonegone.com
January 6, 2018
Part 1 of 2 - of the interview with drummer, songwriter, photographer and painter, Gary Taylor - www.imagesbygarytaylor.com.
December 21, 2017
Part 2 of the interview with musician, songwriter, photographer and painter, Gary Taylor - www.imagesbygarytaylor.com.
December 21, 2017
This episodes features an interview with bassist, composer, and arranger, Ian de Sousa - https://www.facebook.com/peoples.republic.of.i
November 30, 2017
A conversation with Juno winning producer, composer, arranger and musician, Lance Anderson - http://makeitrealrecords.com/
November 24, 2017
A conversation with Jazz and Soul music vocalist, Kellylee Evans - www.kellyleeevans.com
November 17, 2017
A conversation with guitarist (multi-instrumentalist), vocalist, songwriter and producer, Kevin Breit - www.kevinbreit.com.
November 10, 2017
An interview with guitarist, producer and studio musician, Mike "Pepe" Francis.
November 3, 2017
An interview with the London based proprietor of Divergent Media, formerly of Rounder Records and Rykodisc amongst others, Ian Gilchrist - https://www.facebook.com/divergentmediauk/
October 26, 2017
An interview which took place in Spain with the father of Madrid Blues, Tonky de la Peña - https://www.facebook.com/tonkyjuan  (Special thanks to Enrico Crivellaro for making this interview happen ...
October 19, 2017
A conversation with Co-Administrator/Archivist of the Estate of Jeff Healey, Roger Costa - www.jeffhealey.com.  
September 30, 2017
An interview with blues musician, Al Lerman - www.allermanmusic.com
September 22, 2017
An interview with American blues guitarist, singer, songwriter and painter, Bobby Radcliff - www.bobbyradcliffblues.com.
September 15, 2017
An interview with guitarist, singer, songwriter and producer as well as a Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Joe Louis Walker - www.joelouiswalker.com.
September 10, 2017
A conversation with Big Wreck drummer, Chuck D. Keeping - www.bigwreckmusic.com
September 4, 2017
An interview with promoter (and generalist) Rico Ferrara of Blues for a Big Town - www.bluesforabigtown.com
August 25, 2017
An interview with the brilliant singer, songwriter and harmonica player, Rick Estrin - www.rickestrin.com.
August 18, 2017
From the Talkin' Blues Archives...an interview with Bluesman Snooky Pryor from November 3rd, 2001.  This interview took place thanks to the help of Andrew Galloway of Electro-Fi Records.  Assisting ...
July 27, 2017
A conversation with guitarist, singer, songwriter, Chris Antonik - www.chrisantonik.com.
July 21, 2017
An interview with Canadian Blues Guitarist, Shawn Kellerman (Lucky Peterson, Godboogie, Shawn Kellerman Band) - www.shawnkellerman.com.
July 14, 2017
An interview with author of "The Blues - Why It Still Hurts So Good" and Manager and Wife of Walter Trout, Dr. Marie Trout - www.marietrout.com.
July 6, 2017
An interview with Canadian Blues Harp player, David Rotundo - www.davidrotundo.com.
June 30, 2017
An interview with Canadian Fingerstyle Guitarist, Don Ross - www.donrossonline.com.
June 23, 2017
An interview with the Detroit's Queen of the Blues, Thornetta Davis - http://thornettadavis.com/
June 15, 2017
An interview with the producer of the Blues Music Awards and storyteller (author, filmmaker and public speaker), Willy Bearden - http://www.willybearden.com.
June 8, 2017
An interview with former President and CEO of the Blues Foundation, Jay Sieleman.
June 2, 2017
An interview with American soul blues singer, guitarist, arranger, songwriter and record producer, Johnny Rawls - www.johnnyrawlsblues.com.
May 26, 2017
An interview with the General Manager of the Notodden Blues Festival and singer/songwriter/harmonica player in Spoonful of Blues, Jostein Forsberg from Notodden, Norway - www.bluesfest.no.
May 20, 2017
An interview with award winning, Grammy nominated blues harmonica player, singer and songwriter, Mark Hummel - www.markhummel.com.
May 14, 2017
An interview with Chicago Blues musician, Rockin' Johnny Burgin - www.rockinjohnnyburgin.com.
April 5, 2017
An interview with multiple award winner, bassist for Downchild, and musical director of the Maple Blues Awards (just to name a few things he does), Gary Kendall - www.garykendall.com.  This is part ...
March 23, 2017
An interview with multiple award winner, bassist for Downchild, and musical director of the Maple Blues Awards (just to name a few things he does), Gary Kendall - www.garykendall.com.  This is part t...
March 23, 2017
 An interview with Canadian jazz, blues & boogie-woogie pianist, vocalist, composer, arranger and producer, Michael Kaeshammer - www.kaeshammer.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Montreal Blues guitarist, Paul Deslaurier - www.pauldeslauriersband.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Cape Breton Blues Musician/slide player, John Campbelljohn - www.campbelljohn.ca.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian harmonica player, Roly Platt - www.rolyplatt.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with the owner and founder of Cordova Bay Entertainment, Michael Burke - www.cordovabay.com.
March 12, 2017
A conversation with the President and Chief Executive Officer of The Blues Foundation, Barbara Newman - www.blues.org.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Chicago blues musician, Toronzo Cannon - www.toronzocannon.com
March 12, 2017
An interview with chamber blues musician, Corky Siegel - www.corkymusic.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with the Executive Director of Performing Arts for the Royal Conservatory of Music, Mervon Mehta - http://www.rcmusic.ca.
March 12, 2017
An interview with drummer, Bucky Berger who has played with Fathead, Danny Brooks, Rough Trade, Chilliwack and Raffi...to name just a few.  This interview took place on November 29, 2016.
March 12, 2017
An interview with musician, producer, and songwriter Alec Fraser.  He is one half of Fraser Daley and has played with the who's who of the Canadian blues scene.  www.fraserdaley.com
March 12, 2017
An interview with blues, afro-roots and soul guitarist / singer-songwriter Cécile Doo-Kingué - www.cdkmusik.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with blues, roots and rock musician, Steve Strongman - www.stevestrongman.com.
March 12, 2017
Here's something different.  Musician, Shakura S'Aida interviews the host of talkin' blues, Mako Funasaka about his life.  www.talkinblues.com
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian guitar maker, Linda Manzer - www.manzer.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with music writer Eric Thom about his life and his approach to reviewing music.  You can find some of Eric's latest reviews at  http://blurtonline.com/
March 12, 2017
Episode 46 features an interview with Steve Marriner of Monkey Junk - monkeyjunkband.com.
March 12, 2017
A conversation with Jimmy Boudreau - drummer for Mel Brown's Homewreckers.  Jimmy also plays with Jim Witter, The Western Swing Authority and many other musical projects -  www.jimboudreau.com
March 12, 2017
An interview with guitarist/singer/songwriter Toney Springer of Wild T and the Spirit - www.wildt.ca.
March 12, 2017
From the Talkin' Blues Archives.  Back in September of 2004, I had the wonderful pleasure of interviewing one of my musical heroes, Chris Whitley, the day after his performance at Hugh's Room.  Port...
March 12, 2017
From the Talkin' Blues Archives.  Back in September of 2004, I had the wonderful pleasure of interviewing one of my musical heroes, Chris Whitley, the day after his performance at Hugh's Room.  Port...
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian musician, Harry Manx - www.harrymanx.com.
March 12, 2017
This episode features an interview with guitarist, singer/songwriter - Sue Foley - www.suefoley.com.
March 12, 2017
This episode features an interview with Zydeco musician, Dwayne Dopsie - www.dwaynedopsie.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with singer/songwriter, Johnny Max about his life and his involvement in the business of music - www.johnnymaxband.com
March 12, 2017
This episodes features an interview with Irish singer/songwriter/guitarist, Grainne Duffy - grainneduffy.com.
March 12, 2017
This episode features an episode with Gospel, Blues and Rock singer, Alexis P. Suter - http://www.alexispsuter.com.
March 12, 2017
An interview with Canadian blues singer, songwriter and harmonica player, Paul Reddick - www.paulreddick.ca.
March 12, 2017

Load more